Legislative assembly

Today, 75 years ago … Modi remembers the first sitting of the Constituent Assembly: The Tribune India

Aditi Tandon

Tribune press service

New Delhi, December 9

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday recalled the first session of India’s Constituent Assembly tasked with drafting the Constitution and urged young people to learn more about this historic day.

“Today, 75 years ago, our Constituent Assembly met for the first time. Distinguished people from different parts of India, different origins and even different ideologies have come together for the same purpose of giving the Indian people a worthy Constitution. Tribute to these greats, ”the Prime Minister said on Twitter.

He said the first Constituent Assembly sitting was chaired by Dr Sachchidananda Sinha, who was the oldest member of the Assembly.

“He was introduced and led to the presidency by Acharya Kripalani. Today, as we mark 75 years of the historic sitting of our Constituent Assembly, I urge my young friends to learn more about the work of this august assembly and the eminent pillars that were part of it. It would be an intellectually enriching experience, ”added the Prime Minister.

The Constituent Assembly first met in New Delhi on December 9, 1946 in the Constitution Hall, now known as the Central Hall of Parliament. Elegantly decorated for the occasion, the Bedroom sported a fresh new look that day with a constellation of bright lamps hanging from the high ceilings and also from the consoles on its walls.

Overwhelmed and jubilant, the members sat in semicircular rows facing the presidential dias. Offices which could be heated electrically were placed on sloping terraces covered with green carpet. Those adorning the first row were Jawaharlal Nehru, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Acharya JB Kripalani, Dr Rajendra Prasad, Sarojini Naidu, Hare Krushna Mahatab, Pandit Govind Ballabh Pant, Dr BR Ambedkar, Sarat Raj Mchare Asaf Ali. Two hundred and seven representatives, including nine women, were present.

The inaugural session began at 11 am with the presentation of Dr Sachchidananda Sinha, Provisional President of the Assembly, by Acharya Kripalani. While welcoming Dr Sinha and others, Acharyaji said, “As we begin each work with divine blessings, we ask Dr Sinha to invoke these blessings so that our work can run smoothly. to take the presidency. “

The Constituent Assembly took nearly three years (two years, eleven months and seventeen days to be precise) to accomplish its historic task of drafting the Constitution for independent India. During this period, it held 11 sessions covering a total of 165 days. Of these, 114 days were devoted to the examination of the draft Constitution.

As to its composition, the members were chosen by indirect election by the members of the Provincial Legislative Assemblies, according to the scheme recommended by the Cabinet Mission.

Source link