Legislative assembly

Sultan Mahmood sworn in as PoK chairman

Veteran politician Sultan Mahmood was sworn in as the new president of Pakistan-occupied Kashmir (PoK) on Wednesday.

Mahmood became the region’s 28th president after being elected by the Legislative Assembly on August 17. He was nominated for the top post by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) which won the July 25 elections.

He had won 34 votes against his rival, the joint opposition candidate, Mian Abdul Waheed, who won 16 votes.

He succeeds Sardar Masood Khan, whose term ends on August 24.

Mahmood was also Prime Minister of the PoK between July 1996 and July 2001. He is the regional chairman of the PTI and was elected member of the Legislative Assembly of LA-3, Mirpur-III. India rejected the recent PoK elections, claiming that the “cosmetic exercise” was nothing more than Pakistan’s attempt to “cover up its illegal occupation” and that it had strongly protested against the issue.

Reacting strongly on the PoK elections, Foreign Ministry spokesman Arindam Bagchi said Pakistan had “no locus standi in these Indian territories” and must evacuate all Indian areas under its illegal occupation.

(This story was not edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.