State legislature plans to redistribute the cards | State

Changes are likely to come in the federal and federal electoral districts of Skagit County, according to the state’s redistribution plan.

The maps produced by the state redistribution committee place all of Skagit County in US Congressional District 2, which is represented by Representative Rick Larsen. The current maps have the county divided between districts 1 and 2.

The new state legislative map makes minor changes to the county district boundaries, but the county still includes parts of Districts 10, 39, and 40.

According to the state’s constitution, the Legislature has 30 days from the start of its session on January 10 to amend the final district plan. The cards come into effect in 2022.

According to the new maps, much of Mount Vernon would be moved from the 10th arrondissement into the 40th. Anacortes and other parts of the northwestern county would remain in the 40th.

Additionally, parts of southeastern Skagit County – including the Big Lake and Lake Cavanaugh areas – would move from District 10 to District 39.

District 39 would still encompass Sedro-Woolley and the eastern part of the county.

These cards were approved by the state’s redistribution committee on November 15, just before the midnight deadline. At the time, however, the maps had not been made public.

Members of the commission then said they had not completed their work before the deadline and referred the creation of new cards to the state Supreme Court.

However, on December 3, the court ruled that the committee had completed the necessary work and confirmed the committee’s cards, sending them to the Legislature.