Legislative assembly

Punjab: 15 ministers, 7 new faces: the new Punjab cabinet CM Channi | India News

NEW DELHI: Fifteen congressmen were sworn in on Sunday as ministers to Raj Bhavan in the office of Punjab chief minister Charanjit Singh Channi.
The Cabinet expansion comes months ahead of state assembly polls. Punjab governor Banwarilal Purohit has sworn in lawmakers.
Hours before the cabinet was enlarged, a group of ministers from the previous Amarinder Singh government questioned the apparent decision to drop them.
Meet the ministers of Charanjit Singh Government of Punjab led by Channi:
Brahm Mohindra
Brahm Mohindra has been elected six times to the Punjab Legislature. He was Minister of Health and Family Welfare in the previous cabinet headed by Amarinder Singh.
Manpreet Singh Badal
Five-time provincial deputy, Manpreet Singh Badal was finance minister in Amarinder Singh’s cabinet. He presented the Punjab budget a record eight times – the maximum for a Punjab minister.
Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa
Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa is a quadruple MP from Punjab. He was Minister of Rural Development and Panchayats and Housing and Urban Development in the previous Punjab government led by Amarinder Singh.
Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria
Sukhbinder Singh Sarkaria is a three-time MP for Rajasansi constituency. Sarkaria held the portfolio of water resources, mining and geology, housing and urban development in the government of Amarinder Singh.
Rana Gurjit Singh
Rana Gurjit Singh is a former irrigation minister and has made a surprise comeback after four years despite objections raised by at least six lawmakers. He was inducted after at the expense of double MP Kuljit Nagra was dropped at the last moment.
Aruna Chaudhary
Aruna Chaudhary is one of two women ministers who were selected from the previous Amarinder Singh government. She was previously Minister of Transport, Social Security and Development of Women and Children.
Razia Sultana
Razia Sultana is one of two women ministers in the previous government led by Amarinder Singh. She held the portfolio of higher education and water supply and sanitation.
Bharat Bhushan Ashu
Bharat Bhushan Ashu, two-time MP for Ludhiana, was Minister of Food and Civilian Supply and Consumer Affairs in the government led by Amarinder Singh.
Vijay Inder Singla
Singla is one of the most prominent Hindu faces and is known for his closeness to Amarinder Singh. He was Minister of Public Works, Information and Technology in the previous government.
Randeep Singh Nabha
Randeep Singh Nabha is a four-time MP for Amloh. He was a member of the Punjab Vidhan Sabha Libraries Committee and Public Enterprise Committee (2018-19).
Raj kumar verka
Verka is a leader of the Valmiki community and represents the constituency of Amritsar West. Verka was one of 42 INC MPs who tendered their resignations to protest a Supreme Court of India ruling declaring the Punjab’s termination of the Sutlej-Yamuna Link (SYL) water canal unconstitutional.
Sangat Singh Gilzian
Gilzian represents the other backward classes and is one of the new faces inducted into the Punjab cabinet. n 2017, he was elected member of the Legislative Assembly of the Punjab of Urmar. He was recently chosen as the working president of state unity.
Pargat singh
Double MP Pargat Singh is an Akali Dal rebel. He’s a hockey Olympian turned bureaucrat turned politician. He was appointed Secretary General of the State.
Amarinder Singh Raja at war
Warring began his political career working as a leader of a student union. He made his Assembly debut by defeating then-leader of the Punjab People’s Party Manpreet Singh Badal, who is now in Congress, from Gidderbaha in 2012. He was president of the Indian Youth Congress in 2014.
Gurkirat Kotli
Kotli also began his political career working as a leader of a student union. Kotli’s grandfather, the late Beant Singh, was Chief Minister from 1992 to 1995. His father Tej Parkash Singh was State Minister of Transport.
Earlier, some of the state’s congressional leaders wrote to the party’s head of state unity, Navjot Singh Sidhu, demanding that former “corrupt” minister Rana Gurjit Singh not be included.
The leaders also demanded that the cabinet bunk could be filled instead “by giving representation to a clean Dalit leader”. The copy of the letter was also sent to Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi.
Rana Gurjit Singh, after being criticized by the opposition for allegations of impropriety in the auction of sand mining contracts, had to resign from the previous cabinet Amarinder Singh in 2018. At that time, he held portfolios irrigation and electricity.
Meanwhile, Punjab congressman Harish Rawat has asserted that those who could not be appointed ministers today will be accommodated in the configuration and organization of government.
“This exercise was done to bring in young faces and find a social and regional balance,” said Rawat.
Channi was sworn in as chief minister following the unceremonious departure of Congress veteran Amarinder Singh.
Channi’s two deputies, Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa and OP Soni, were sworn in on Monday.
(With contributions from the agency)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.