Upper house

Prez poll: 59 out of 60 MPs voted in Arunachal

ITANAGAR, July 18: Fifty-nine out of 60 MPs in Arunachal Pradesh exercised their right to vote until midday on Monday to elect India’s new president, Assembly Secretary K Habung said.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu and his deputy Chowna Mein were among the first to vote in the assembly’s Nokmey Namati Hall, Habung said.

BJP lawmaker Lokam Tassar has yet to exercise his right to vote.

Taking to Twitter, Khandu said: “One of India’s most defining moments. I have the privilege of voting for the 16th Presidential Election at the State Assembly Hall today. »

The four Congress deputies, including former chief minister Nabam Tuki, also voted.

NDA presidential candidate Draupadi Murmu and joint opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha are the two contenders for the post of president.

In Arunachal, the ruling BJP has 48 MPs out of a 60-member assembly, while the opposition Congress and the National People’s Party (NPP) have four each, and JD(U) has one.

The house also has three independent members.

The four NPP MPs and the only JD(U) member, along with the three independents, pledged their support for Murmu.

Arunachal has two Lok Sabha MPs – Kiren Rijiju, the union’s law and justice minister and Tapir Gao – and one upper house member, Nabam Rebia.

“The value of each MP’s vote is 700 across the country. Arunachal MPs have a vote value of eight each, Habung said.

The BJP presidential candidate is expected to score 2,584 in the state, after winning support from the NPP, JD(U) and independents, and Sinha 32, with support from Congress. (PTI)