Legislative assembly

Presidential election tomorrow: MPs and MPs will vote to elect India’s 15th president

NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu has a clear advantage over Yashwant Sinha of the opposition, as more than 60% of votes are expected to be cast in her favour.

The ballot will take place in the Parliament and in the legislative assemblies of the States for which the ballot boxes have already arrived at their destination.

The counting of the votes will take place in Parliament on July 21 and the next president will be sworn in on July 25. The term of current President Ram Nath Kovind will end on July 24.

After gaining support from some regional parties like BJD, YSR-CP, BSP, AIADMK, TDP, JDS, Shiromani Akali Dal and Shiv Sena, Draupadi Murmu’s vote share has already exceeded the 60%. She now has over 6.67 lakh votes after support from various regional parties, out of a total of 10,86,431 votes.

If elected to office, former minister Odisha Draupadi Murmu will be India’s first tribal president and the country’s second female president.

Meanwhile, Rashtriya Janata Dal leader Tejashwi Yadav while referring to Murmu and comparing with opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha said polls will be held for the election of the president and not to install “no statue” at Rashtrapati Bhavan. “We don’t want a statue in Rashtrapati Bhavan, we elect the president. You always must have heard Yashwant Sinha but we never heard the voice of the presidential candidate (Droupadi Murmu) from the ruling party,” said the leader of the RJD. Saturday. Questioning the media further, Tejashwi said “neither they nor the media have ever heard of Murmu”.

The electoral college that elects the president under the system of proportional representation includes elected deputies and members of the state legislatures. Appointed MPs and MPs and members of Legislative Councils are not eligible to vote in this election.

The value of an MP’s vote dropped from 708 to 700 in this presidential poll due to the absence of a legislative assembly in Jammu and Kashmir.

In the states, the value of each deputy’s vote varies by state. In Uttar Pradesh, the value of each MP’s vote stands at 208, followed by 176 in Jharkhand and Tamil Nadu. In Maharashtra, it is 175. In Sikkim, the value of the vote per MP is seven, while it is nine in Nagaland and eight in Mizoram.

Before appointing former Union minister and BJP leader Sinha, the opposition camp had approached Gopalkrishna Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi and former governor of West Bengal, NCP supremo Sharad Pawar and leader of the Farooq Abdullah National Conference to challenge the poll.

After their refusal to be part of the electoral battle, Sinha, then vice-president of the Trinamool Congress, was nominated as the opposition candidate.

The election of the President takes place according to the system of proportional representation by means of a single transferable vote.

In accordance with the system of proportional representation by single transferable vote, each voter can mark as many preferences as there are candidates running.

These preferences for candidates should be marked by the voter, by placing the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and so on, against the candidates’ names, in order of preference, in the space provided at column 2 of the ballot.

This is the reason why electronic voting machines are not used in this poll as well as in the Vice Presidential, Rajya Sabha and Legislative Council polls. EVMs are based on technology where they function as a vote aggregator in direct elections such as the Lok Sabha and State Assemblies.

According to the guidelines of the electoral commission, while MPs will receive a green-colored ballot, MPs will receive a pink ballot to vote. Distinct colors help the returning officer determine the value of each MP’s and MP’s vote.

Seeking to maintain the secrecy of the vote, the EC released a specially designed pen with purple ink for voters to mark their ballots in the presidential ballot.

(With PTI entries)

Catch all the trade news, market news, breaking events and the latest updates on Live Mint. Download the Mint News app to get daily market updates.

More less

To subscribe to Mint Bulletins

* Enter a valid email

* Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter.