Legislative assembly

President rejects “letter of resignation” from representative of Segama

The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Sabah, Kadzim M Yahya, rejected an alleged letter signed by Mohamaddin Ketapi indicating that Mohamaddin resigned from his post as a member of the Assembly of Segama.

Kadzim told a press conference in Kota Kinabalu yesterday that he received the letter from a law firm on November 1. However, Mohamaddin had submitted a statutory declaration the next day to invalidate the contents of the letter.

Following this, Kadzim said he summoned Mohamadin (above) for a meeting yesterday and confirmed that the letter did not vacate his seat.

“I would also like to point out here that under the law, a letter of resignation without a date is not valid. Therefore, Mohamadin remains the member of the Assembly of Segama,” he reportedly said by Bernama.

Mohamaddin had announced that he was no longer a member of Warisan and would be an independent member of the assembly supporting the government of Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) state.

He added that he will be an independent member of Lahad Datu.

Previously, Kadzim had followed a similar process for Assembly member Sebatik Hassan A Gani Pg Amir and Assembly member Sindumin Yusof Yacob.

Hassan left Warisan in February while Yusof left in October.

It is understood that all members of the Warisan Assembly were required to sign undated resignation letters as a condition of being a Warisan candidate in the State Legislative Assembly elections which took place in September of the year. last.

The signing ceremony, in which each candidate pledged to step down upon defection, was held at the Sabah Convention Center in Kota Kinabalu and was videotaped.

The election saw Warisan win 23 seats. It is now reduced to 19. In addition to losing the aforementioned three seats, Warisan also lost the Bugaya seat following the death of incumbent Manis Muka Mohd Darah in November of last year.

Source link