Legislative assembly

Premier of the NWT appoints new deputy ministers

Northwest Territories Premier Caroline Cochrane announced changes to two unelected heads of territorial ministries.

John MacDonald takes over as deputy minister of the Department of Education, Culture and Employment this week, replacing Rita Mueller who left the NWT public service, according to a press release on Monday. .

MacDonald leaves behind his post of Assistant Deputy Minister of Environment and Climate Change at the Department of Environment and Natural Resources.


William MacKay will assume the post of Deputy Minister of the Department of Finance in September. He has been Deputy Minister of the Executive and Indigenous Affairs and Secretary to the Cabinet of the Government of Nunavut since September 2019.

MacKay will replace Sandy Kalgutkar who plans to retire.

“I look forward to working with Mr. Mackay and Mr. MacDonald in their new roles,” Cochrane said.

“Deputy Ministers play a vital role in planning and managing how the Government of the Northwest Territories will deliver on the commitments it has made to advance the priorities of the 19th Legislative Assembly and improve the lives of residents of the territory.


“The vast northern experience that Mr. MacKay and Mr. MacDonald will bring to their positions will be invaluable to our government.

Deputy ministers are appointed by the commissioner in executive council on the advice of the prime minister. They serve and are accountable to the Prime Minister.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.