Upper house

Panneerselvam appoints Rajya Sabha MP Dharmar, 13 other district secretaries

O Panneerselvam, head of the AIADMK rebel camp, on Sunday appointed more than a dozen “district secretaries”, including MP Rajya Sabha R Dharmar and former lawmakers.

The appointees include VNP Venkatraman (Chennai Suburban District) and Kovai K Selvaraj (Coimbatore District), both former MPs and Dharmar (Ramanathapuram District), who was among 6 candidates elected unopposed to the House last month high in Tamil Nadu. A total of 14 party men were appointed as “district secretaries” by Panneerselvam. Meanwhile, Panneerselvam was reportedly discharged from a hospital here where he was treated for COVID-19. Panneerselvam, OPS as he is popularly known, was recently expelled from the party and he was also relieved of his position as party treasurer. The AIADMK, led by Acting General Secretary Edappadi K Palaniswami, also removed Panneerselvam from his position as Deputy Leader of the Assembly. A representation in this regard was sent to President M Appavu by the AIADMK and the PAHO strongly opposed the changes in the composition of the legislative party. The matter is before the President. The OPS maintains that he is the coordinator and treasurer of the party and that related matters are before the electoral commission and the court.

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)