Legislative assembly

Navjot Sidhu says Congress workers will accept high command decision on face of Punjab CM

As the Congress leadership has begun discussions with party leaders and workers to choose its main ministerial face for Punjab ahead of the 2022 assembly elections, the state party leader, Navjot Singh Sidhu, said on Monday that the party would accept the final decision to be made by the High Command.

Addressing a press conference, Navjot Singh Sidhu said, “Everyone will accept and support whatever the Congress High Command decides.”

According to reports, Congress Speaker Sonia Gandhi requested the response from party members through the Shakti app. Earlier it was reported that the big old party will not cast a CM face for the 2022 elections in Punjab amid the tussle between Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and Navjot Singh Sidhu.

Will Charanjit Channi be the face of CM?

There has been speculation that incumbent Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi will become the CM’s candidate after the grand old party released its third list of candidates for the Punjab Assembly elections on January 30, when it was learned that currently Channi had been presented from another seat – Bhadaur. Previously, he was declared the candidate for Chamkaur Sahib, the constituency he has represented for more than a decade. He is the party’s only candidate to run from two seats. It is also important to note that Channi is the first Dalit Chief Minister of Punjab.

Meanwhile, the Election Commission of India had announced on January 8 the dates for the Punjab Assembly Elections 2022 to be held in February to elect 117 members of the 16th Assembly of the State Legislative Assembly.

In the last assembly elections in 2017, the Indian National Congress won 77 seats out of 117, leaving the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and the alliance Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) behind in third place with 18 seats. The AAP was second with 20 seats and became the official state opposition. Polling in Punjab is scheduled to take place on February 20 and the counting of votes will take place on March 10.