Legislative assembly

Fate of 624 candidates to be sealed as Rae Bareli, Lakhimpur, 57 other seats go to the polls tomorrow

lucknow | Jagran Press Office: Polling for the fourth phase of the crucial Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections in 2022 will take place on Wednesday as the curtains fell for yesterday’s intense election campaign. A total of 59 assembly segments spread across 9 districts of the state including Pilibhit, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sitapur, Hardoi, Unnao, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Banda and Fatehpur. Voting will begin at 7 a.m. and continue until 6 p.m. A total of 624 candidates are trying their luck in the fourth phase ballots.

Lakhimpur Kheri grabbed the national spotlight after eight people, including four farmers, were killed after being hit by a vehicle during a protest. Ashish Mishra, son of BJP leader Ajay Kumar Mishra, is charged in the case.

BJP’s Yogesh Verma had won the Lakhimpur seat in the 2017 Assembly elections by beating Utkarsh Verma Madhur of the Samajwadi party by a formidable margin of over 37,000 votes. The prestige of Union Home Affairs Minister Ajay Mishra Teni will also be at stake in Lakhimpur Kheri constituency. He is a local MP, as well as being at the center of controversy after his son was named to the FIR in the incident that led to the farmers’ deaths.

Interestingly, the BJP and the SP repeated their candidates. The constituency has drawn attention in ongoing polls due to the political heat generated by Lakhimpur Kheri’s violence in parliament and also outside it.

Congress fielded Ravi Shankar Trivedi while BSP fielded Mohan Bajpai from the seat. Khushi Kinnar of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is also in the fray with Mohammad Usman Siddiqui of AIMIM.

Another heavily guarded headquarters in this phase is the Sarojini Nagar headquarters in Lucknow where the former Joint Director of the Law Enforcement Directorate, Rajeshwar Singh, is pitted against a former IIM professor and close aide. of former Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav, Abhishek Mishra. Raebareli Sadar is one of the battles to watch with his incumbent Congress MP Aditi Singh who is now a BJP candidate.

State Justice Minister Brijesh Pathak clashes with Samajwadi party candidate and double corporal Surendra Singh Gandhi at Lucknow cantonment headquarters. UP Minister Ashutosh Tandon is in the fray from the Lucknow East seat against Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker Nitin Agarwal, who is the Samajwadi party candidate.

The state is witnessing a multifaceted competition with the Congress, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Samajwadi Party (SP)-Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) alliance and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) as the main contenders.

In a last minute effort, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath during an election campaign in Raebareli on Monday pledged the launch of Purohit Welfare Board in the state for the welfare of priests, sadhus and a special scholarship for students studying Sanskrit if the BJP is re-elected to power.

Meanwhile, Congress General Secretary Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, addressing a rally in Hardoi, alleged that the BJP was trying to divert people’s attention from the real issues by talking about ‘religion, Pakistan and terrorism. “.

Voting for the remaining three phases of the UP’s seven-phase elections will take place on February 27, March 3 and 7. The counting of votes will take place on March 10.

(With contributions from the agency)

Posted by:
Talibuddin Khan