Eknath Shinde reinstated as Legislative Party leader Shiv Sena; Ajay Choudhary deleted

After a week-long drama, through an official communication, he was informed that Ajay Choudhary’s appointment had been revoked and Eknath Shinde had been reinstated as the leader of the Maharashtra Shiv Sena Legislature Party.

“This was done by acting on the objection you raised via a letter dated June 22, 2022,” reads the letter, published by the Vidhan Sabha. In the context of the Legislative Council elections, while the Shiv Sena MPs remained in secrecy, one of the first steps taken by Supremo Uddhav Thackeray was to change the leader of the Maharashtra Legislative Party Shiv Sena.

Shinde was replaced by Choudhary as the leader of the Maharashtra Legislative Party Shiv Sena. In this regard, the rebel MPs, who were then housed in Surat of Gujarat, in the absence of the President, had written a letter to the Vice President, objecting to the above appointment.

Bharat Gogavale – The new chief representative of Shiv Sena

“We declare that 16 MPs out of 55 could not have appointed a new legislative party leader Shiv Sena as the requirement of an equal quorum was not met. It has come to our knowledge that Mr. Ajay Choudhary was declared in an unauthorized manner to have been appointed Leader of Legislative Party Shiv Sena We have today unanimously passed a resolution stating that the said resolution dated 21.06.2022 passed at 12:30 p.m. appointing Mr. Ajay Choudhary is void as incompetent and likewise illegal and inoperative, the letter read.

Additionally, Shiv Sena MP Shri Bharat Gogavale was appointed Chief Representative of the Shiv Sena Legislature, believing that the orders issued by Sunil Prabhu regarding the meeting of MPs on 21.06.2022 were “legally invalid”.

Through Sunday’s communication, he was informed that the nomination of Bharat Gogavale had been accepted, leading to the dismissal of Sunil Prabhu from his position.

Maharashtra Assembly gets new Speaker

On Sunday, BJP’s Rahul Narwekar was elected Speaker on the first day of the Special Assembly Session, with MPs from the Eknath Shinde faction also voting in his favour. Narwekar, who won 164 votes, beat Shiv Sena candidate led by Uddhav Thackeray, Rajan Salvi, who won 107 votes.

Shinde’s reinstatement as leader of the Maharashtra Shiv Sena Legislative Party and acceptance of Bharat Gogawale as Chief Party Whip is one of the first decisions made by the Assembly, following Narwekar’s election to the Presidency.