Legislative assembly

Congress: Congress forms UP polling panels, PL Punia heads campaign committee | India News

NEW DELHI: Congress set up various panels on Friday for the next Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls, with the top party leader PL Punia appointed to head the crucial campaign committee.
Party president Sonia Gandhi approved the proposal to set up an electoral campaign committee, an electoral strategy and planning committee, an election coordination committee, an imputation committee and of an electoral manifesto committee of the Uttar Pradesh Congress Committee (UPCC), according to a party statement.
Punia will lead the 20-member campaign committee with Pradeep Jain Aditya as coordinator. The panel includes figures such as Mohsina Kidwai, Pramod Tewari, Raj Babbar, RPN Singh, Naseemuddin Siddiqui, Imran Masood and Imran Pratapgarhi.
Rajesh Mishra has been appointed to head the 15-member Election Strategy and Planning Committee. Rakesh Sachan will be the coordinator of the panel.
Nirmal Khatri will head the Elections Coordination Committee which includes Rajeev Shukla, Zafar Ali Naqvi and Begum Noor Bano.
Acharya Pramod Krushnam will lead the 15-member accusation committee with Nadeem Javed appointed as the panel coordinator.
The president of the UPCC, the leader of the CLP, the secretaries of the AICC of the UP and the heads of state of the frontal organizations will also be members of these panels.
The party said top leader Salman Khurshid would chair the manifesto committee and Supriya Shrinate would be the coordinator of the 11-member committee.
Congress also appointed additional officers within the UPCC, appointing three vice-presidents, twelve general secretaries, one secretary general organization and 31 secretaries.
Upendra Singh, Maqsood Khan and Jaywant Singh were appointed vice-chairmen, while Dinesh Kumar Singh was appointed general secretary (organization).
Congress is preparing for the elections with Secretary General in charge Priyanka Gandhi Vadra leading the party’s charge against the BJP government led by Yogi Adityanath.
In the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections in 2017, Congress only managed to win seven seats, while its ally SP won 47 seats and the BSP won 19 constituencies.
The BJP, meanwhile, won the election with an overwhelming majority, taking 312 seats out of the 403 members of the Legislative Assembly to form the government.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.