Legislative assembly

Assembly Election 2022 Live Voting News and Coverage, 14 February 2022, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Punjab, Uttarakhand (UK), Manipur, UP Election Seats, Candidate List News, Contesting Seat, PM Narendra Modi Rally Updates, PM Modi Speech Today news here

UP CM Yogi Adityanath campaigns in Uttarakhand ahead of elections. The elections will be a litmus test for the ruling BJP in UP, Uttarakhand and Goa ((Photo: Twitter/@BJP4UK)

In Uttarakhand, prominent candidates whose fate is to be decided in these polls include Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami, his cabinet colleagues Satpal Maharaj, Subodh Uniyal, Arvind Pandey, Dhan Singh Rawat and Rekha Arya in addition to the President of BJP Madan Kaushik. Prominent congressional candidates include former chief minister Harish Rawat, former minister Yashpal Arya, state congress speaker Ganesh Godiyal and fourth assembly opposition leader Pritam Singh.

[also_read title = “An Expert Explains” article_title= ” Politics and history in Goa” id = “7768271” liveblog = “no” ]

Leading contenders in Goa include Chief Minister Pramod Sawant (BJP), Opposition Leader Digambar Kamat (Congress), former CM Churchill Alemao (TMC), Ravi Naik (BJP), Laxmikant Parsekar (Independent), L Former VP CM Vijai Sardesai (GFP) and Sudin Dhavalikar (MGP), late CM Manohar Parrikar’s son, Utpal Parrikar, and AAP CM face off against Amit Paleker.

[also_read title = “Also Read” article_title= “Why power is charging Uttar Pradesh poll campaigns” id = “7768418” liveblog = “no” ]

In Uttar Pradesh, voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. Of the 55 seats up for election in this phase, the BJP won 38 in 2017, while the Samajwadi party won 15 and the Congress two. The PS and the Congress contested the last Assembly election in an alliance. The areas that go to the polls in this phase have a large Muslim population influenced by the religious leaders of the Barelvi and Deoband sects and are considered strongholds of the Samajwadi party.

Prominent faces in the fray in this phase include Dharam Singh Saini, a BJP minister of state who had moved to the SP. SP’s Azam Khan lined up from his Rampur seat, while Saini tries his luck from the Nakud Assembly segment. Khan is a member of Lok Sabha from Rampur.