Legislative assembly

Amarinder Singh’s Punjab Lok Congress appoints 10 district presidents


The Punjab Lok Congress, a new political party formed by Captain Amarinder Singh, announced 10 district presidents and three spokespersons on Saturday.

According to the secretary general in charge of the organization, Kamal Saini, the people responsible for the spokespersons are Pritpal Singh Balliewal, Prince Khullar and Sandeep Gorsi who is also a lawyer.

District Presidents include Jagmohan Sharma for Ludhiana Urban, Satvir Singh Palli Jhikki for SBS Nagar (Nawanshahar), Sandeep Singh Brar for Faridkot, Harinder Singh Jaurkian for Bathinda Urban, Professor Bhupinder Singh for Bathinda Rural, Captain MS Bedi for Fazilka, Sazilka, Satinder for Ludhiana Rural, Jeevan Dass Bawa for Mansa, KK Malhotra for Patiala Urban and Navdeep Singh Mokha for Sangrur, according to the party’s statement.

“The remaining district presidents will be appointed in a day or two,” Saini said.

Earlier Wednesday, ahead of the 2022 Punjab Assembly elections, Pritpal Singh Baliawal, who resigned from Congress, joined the Punjab Lok Congress, the party of former chief minister Captain Amarinder Singh.

Captain Amarinder Singh, who recently launched his own party, the Punjab Lok Congress, said on Sunday that the decision to form an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa’s party had been taken in principle and a seat adjustment would be announced shortly.

Elections for the Punjab Legislative Assembly, which has 117 members, are expected to take place next year. In the 2017 assembly polls, Congress won an absolute majority in the state winning 77 seats and toppled the SAD-BJP government after 10 years. The Aam Aadmi party became the second largest party winning 20 seats out of 117 members of the Punjab Legislative Assembly. Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) could only win 15 seats while BJP took 3.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Source link