Legislative assembly

After BN wins Melaka, Zahid announced he would enact anti-jump law to protect future state governments from instability | Malaysia

Barisan Nasional leaders pose for the cameras after the coalition was declared the winner of the Melaka state election in Ayer Keroh on November 20, 2021. – Photo by Ahmad Zamzahuri

KUALA LUMPUR, November 20 – The Barisan Nasional (BN) coalition, which won 21 of 28 seats in the Melaka election tonight, intends to enact anti-party jumping law when the state legislature will meet.

Its president, Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, said the proposed law is necessary to ensure the political stability of the future ruling coalition of the state, recalling that the national elections which have just ended were called by four members of the Assembly who changed allegiance in October.

“I would like to announce that BN will propose a number of measures focused on the transformation agenda and strengthening political stability in the state.

“At the first meeting of the state assembly, BN will propose an anti-jump law to curb the problem of changing allegiance among the assembly members.

“Second, strengthen cooperation among members of the Assembly to ensure that the life of the State Assembly is maintained for at least four years from the date of the first sitting,” he said. he said at a press conference broadcast from the BN electoral base in Melaka just after the Election Commission. (EC) announced the official poll results.

Ahmad Zahid also said BN would also introduce a “constructive vote of confidence” to ensure the state government remains intact.

A constructive vote of confidence – a variation of the no-confidence motion – would require that any claim by a member of an assembly to have a majority, or that a majority has been lost, be tested in the legislature rather than outside the assembly.

The principle aims to ensure the stability of an administration by ensuring that a replacement has sufficient majority support to govern.

The EC confirmed that the BN won a simple majority of 15 seats within minutes of 10pm.

In the official tally, the BN won a total of 21 of the 28 seats, followed by the Pakatan Harapan coalition with five seats and Perikatan Nasional with two seats.

The BN’s 21 seats also meant it had a two-thirds majority in the state assembly.

Pengkalan Batu was the last seat to see its results confirmed. BN’s Datuk Kalsom Noordin won the bout with a narrow margin of 131 votes.

She obtained 4,839 votes against her closest rival Muhamad Danish Zainudin of Pakatan Harapan who obtained 4,709 votes.

BN chief minister candidate Datuk Seri Sulaiman Md Ali also managed to retain his Lendu seat with an overwhelming majority of 3,104 votes over his closest rivals.