Legislative assembly

90 deputies voted in the presidential ballot

Staff reporter


ALL ninety Chhattisgarh MPs cast their vote in the presidential election at the polling station at the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly premises on Monday. Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, Speaker of Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Dr Charan Das Mahant, Leader of Opposition in Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Dharamlal Kaushik, Former Chief Minister and MP for Rajnandgaon Dr Raman Singh, Ministers Mohammad Akbar, Ravindra Choubey, Amarjeet Bhagat, Dr Premsai Singh Tekam, Guru Rudra Kumar, Dr Shiv Kumar Dahariya, Anila Bhendia, Umesh Patel, Dr Premsai Singh Tekam, Kawasi Lakhma, Kondagaon MLA Mohan Markam and other MPs exercised their right to vote during of the presidential election. Voting began at 10 a.m. At the start, Kurud BJP MP Ajay Chandrakar cast his ballot for the presidential election at the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly premises. More than 50 deputies voted in three hours. The 90 deputies voted before 3 p.m. 71 Congress MPs, 14 BJP MPs, three Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (Jogi) MPs and two Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) MPs voted in the presidential election at the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly premises. The Congress party lent its support to the opposition parties’ presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha while the BJP, Janta Congress Chhattisgarh (Jogi) and BSP lent their support to the NDA candidate Draupadi Murmur. Prior to the poll, all arrangements were in place in the premises of the Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly for the smooth running of the sixteenth presidential election. After the ballot, the ballot box was sealed and sent to Delhi on a scheduled flight on Monday evening. The count will take place in New Delhi on July 21. The Election Commission of India (ECI) had provided special pens to mark the votes. The pen was given to voters in the polling station by the designated official when the ballot paper was delivered. There were a total of 4809 members including 233 Rajya Sabha members, 543 Lok Sabha members and 4033 members of state legislatures. The vote value of an MP in this presidential election is 700 while the value of an MP from Chhattisgarh is 129. There was a straight fight between the NDA candidate Draupadi Murmur and the all party candidate of opposition Yashwant Sinha to the presidential election. Chhattisgarh Observer Rakesh Ranjan, Chief Electoral Officer P Dayanand, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Shikha Rajput Tiwari, Chhattisgarh Legislative Assembly Secretary and Deputy Returning Officer Dinesh Sharma, Deputy Returning Officer Dinesh Trivedi, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Rupesh Verma and other officers were present